painting and photographic works

iPhoneography Inspired Abstract Paintings (Exploration – part 3)

Here is the third piece that I worked through to explore the process of using my abstracted  iPhone images as references for pastel paintings.

original iPhone photograph

iPhone photo after processing

final abstract pastel painting

I considered this exploration, proof of concept to be successful enough that I am going to proceed to develop a series based on this theme and approach. I do hope and expect that my pastel technique will improve as I do more of these pieces.

I see now that the pastel pieces in these posts look considerably more washed out than they are in real life. I would say they are in fact closer to the enhanced photos than they are to the original photos.

I would certainly appreciate any feedback you have on these pieces

Leave a Reply

