painting and photographic works

The Hallway Gallery

Yesterday (Friday 2010 Aug 27) I finally got to visit the U of A Extension’s Hallway Gallery, where I have three of my paintings included in the current exhibition. The “Gallery” features the work of students of the University of Alberta’s Faculty of Extension. The Banff painting retreat that I participated in August of 2009 was a Faculty of Extension program so that why my works are included. There are probably around 50 works in this hallway outside the teaching studios for the Extension’s fine art programs.

The Hallway Gallery

My "Bow Valley from Tunnel Mountain", oil on hardboard, 16" x 12"

My painting "Twisted Stone" (on the left), oil on hardboard, 12" x 16"

My painting "Long Shadows on Tunnel Mountain" (on the right), oil on hardboard, 12" x 16"

There is a very nice variety of work in this exhibit, from the mountain landscapes (in all sorts of styles) to stunning portraits to still life’s. Two artists who’s work particularly caught my eye were Tony Kostyshen and Sandra Soucy, both of whom I had the pleasure of meeting in Banff last year. Tony’s landscapes are colorful and expressive. Sandra has a couple of stunning portraits done in charcoal. Look for them.

I believe this show will run until December and if you are in the downtown Edmonton area, it is worth a visit. The Hallway Gallery is on the second floor of Enterprise Square (Jasper Avenue between 102 and 103 Streets). You’ll find the hallway by going to the northeast corner and it is just off the passageway that leads to Manulife Place.

Leave a Reply

