painting and photographic works

da Vinci, Kandinsky and Josef Albers

I have received  another three art books that I think should be enlightening and useful. I haven’t read these yet but I wanted to share what attracted me to each of these books

Leonardo da Vinci’s A Treatise on Painting.

Not that I want to paint in da Vinci’s style but I will be fascinated to read about the approach and vision of one of the greatest minds of all time. I was quite surprised to discover that a book written by hi would even be available since da  Vinci lived from 1452-1519. This book is a reprint of the 1877 English translation.

Wassily Kandinsky’s Concerning the Spiritual in Art.

This book was mentioned by Norwegian painter David Sandum as an influential favorite book of his, and based on that I am intrigued. It is a slim book of only 57 pages but I expect it will  be a gem.

Josef Albers’ Interaction of Color.

I love color and am always interested in learning more about color perceptions and how that might be used in art. This is a recent revised and expanded version of the original 1963 publication.

I look forward to reading these but unfortunately I am getting quite a stack of books to read and I am not sure when I will get to these. When I do though, I will be sharing some of the key things that I learn.

Leave a Reply

