painting and photographic works

“Defiant Spirits” – a book preview

Although I am developing quite a stack of art-related books to read, my most recent acquisition has  jumped to front of the queue!

I am now through the first four chapters of “Defiant Spirits, the Modernist Revolution of the Group of Seven” by Ross King – and I am loving this book. I have been eagerly anticipating this book since I first heard (last winter) that it was coming . As soon as I saw orders were being taken, I put mine in. So why my interest?

Firstly I am a big fan of the quintessential Canadian art movement, the Group of Seven (and of course Tom Thomson) and that is who this books is about. I am eager to understand all I can about how these painters came to see and paint the Canadian landscape the way they did  and this book is certainly aiming to do that. The other great personal influence for my painting was the impressionist and post-impressionists movements. This book attempts to explain ties between the European and Canadian movements, looking at the history of each of the members of the group, their European influences and their interactions with each other. Much has been written (and much I have read)  before about the Group of Seven  but I am learning new things with each page of this book.

I also didn’t hesitate to  purchase this book, given that it was authored by Ross King. I thoroughly enjoyed his award-winning previous book  “The Judgment of Paris”. This Saskatchewan native now based out of England has also written a number of other books that I will have to get around to reading someday – but for now – it’s back to Defiant Spirits

One response

  1. Chapter 6 talks about influences on the Group of Seven by Scandinavian landscape artists. In addition to my interest in the connections between French Impressionists and the Group, I have also been curious about any relationships with those Scandinavian painters who share a northern climate and geography similar to Canada. There apparently were influences.

    2010/09/12 at 8:14 pm

Leave a Reply

