painting and photographic works

A Salt Spring Painting Excursion (Day 9) – Last Day

Well here I was, Sunday November 18, 2007, the last full day  of my vacation/painting excursion on Salt Spring Island. I wanted to make the most of it but I had so many thing that I wanted to do, places to discover and revisit, that I didn’t know where to start. I did start off leisurely though – sleeping in a bit more than was normal, then having some hot chocolate beside the fire and cooking up some scrambled eggs for breakfast.

It was not raining this morning so I was definitely heading outside but I was unsure what to do. On the one hand I would like to do some painting on the other hand I could go out with my camera, cover a lot more ground and collect reference photos to use later for paintings back in the studio.

Photo taking is what I did – with a vengeance. I finished off my second memory card (started a 3rd) and depleted all of my batteries (again). I followed what were becoming familiar paths – heading down to Beddis Beach and then continuing on to Cusheon Creek. Wanting to explore a bit of new territory, once down by the creek I took the trail to the right, east, towards the ocean rather than starting my trek upstream as I had been doing.

Trail in Cusheon Creek forest

Macro photo of growth on rain forest log

Cusheon Creek in motion

Discoveries on the forest floor

I never did reach the ocean outlet on this hike. The trail seemed to fizzle out but like they say “it’s not about the destination, its about the journey” and the journey this day was good  – good for photos and good for the soul.

After the journey in the valley I was back to Beddis Beach (yet again):

A favorite subject on Beddis Beach

Grasses landscaping property above the beach

View north from Beddis Beach, Salt Spring Island (2007 Nov. 18 13:30)

It was at this point that I had filled my memory card so I headed back up Beddis Road to pick up a new one from “home” before continuing my photo gathering walk up Beddis Road.

Mushroom beside the road

Water drops on a spider’s web

Peeling bark of an Arbutus

Edge of the farmland

A narrow lane off the road

Sheep in a field off Beddis Road

Heading back to Fridas Villa , I couldn’t help but go right past it down to the beach again for one last visit. By this time it was getting dusky but that just lent yet another mood to this favorite place.

November moonrise looking south from Beddis Beach

A wide low-tide Beddis Beach late in the afternoon

It seems I should end the story here and with that serene last photo but it was still only 5 pm on this last day. That evening I did take one more shot at painting (inside of course, at the kitchen table).

My "kitchen table" studio set-up from earlier in the day

I worked on a variation of the abstracted piece I’d done the day before. I wasn’t too happy with it though – the light didn’t seem right. Finally I painted a quick little  landscape, just to use of the remaining paint on my palette, then cleaned up my painting gear and packed it away. I spent the rest of my last evening with a soak in the hot tub and some time beside the fireplace – it doesn’t get much better than that.

Leave a Reply

