painting and photographic works

Close to the Edge

I have some photos to share from a walk yesterday evening. It was shortly after 6PM. The temperature was -18C with a wind chill making it feel like -25. The snow was continuing to fall lightly as it had been doing through the day.  Bundled up in my parka, snowpants, gloves and heavy boots I was comfortable enough at the start but half an hour later my toes and fingers were numb. I was thankful for the automatic setting and robustness of my Nikon that allowed me to take this series without removing my gloves.

I’m calling this post/series “Close to the edge” as my journey took me close to the edge of Edmonton’s downtown core (south along a deserted 96th Street) and then close to the edge of the river valley. I might also add that it was close to the edge of the weather conditions in which a sane person would be out taking photos.

A Cold Snowy Friday Night on 96th Street

Yellow Building

Storefront Glow

Flat Iron Building

Russian Orthodox church

Snowy Street looking North up 96 Street

96 Street ends at 101 Avenue with great views of and across the North Saskatchewan River valley

Buildings of downtown Edmonton

the lit-up pyramids of the Muttart Conservatory

Lights from the valley and the south side of Edmonton

River Valley Jewels

Leave a Reply

