painting and photographic works

In the Cold Dark City

Here are some black and white photos from a cold, snowy January evening in downtown Edmonton. The evening was cold but I wasn’t. Bundled up as I was and moving about, I actually felt warmer out on the street taking photos than I often do sitting around inside the house. Being something like -30C with the wind chill, there weren’t many people on the street and certainly no one else with a camera, so I think I saw things that others will not have seen, and I got some good shots that I would like to share:

Northside of Jasper Avenue (East of 97 St.)

Bridges

Empty Sidewalk, Deserted Benches

Wall Advertising from Another Era on a Historic Building

Cleared Path Through the Snow Drifts

Steamy Skyline

Top of the Riverbank Path

These photos were all taken within about a 2 block stretch east from Jasper Avenue and 97th Street in downtown Edmonton. These were the images that I think look best in black and white but I also have a number  that I will leave in color and will share in my next blog posting.

4 responses

  1. Pingback: Color in a Cold Dark City « Randall Talbot – Artist

  2. David Glasco

    Randall,

    I have to give it to you. You have gone where only the brave go. There are many who dream of taking that special shot. But, there are few who are willing to pay the price. You have captured images of a time and place that speak to all of us. Continue to search where the others will not go and you will continue to inspire all of us.

    Keep at it!

    2011/01/25 at 7:02 pm

  3. James

    I stumbled across this wonderful place searching for my favorite wallpapers, b&w/snow/city/night or any mix of any of them.

    This to me is an absolute, utter GOLD MINE. I can not thank you enough for these absolutely fantastic pictures.

    Keep up the good work.

    2011/03/01 at 1:00 am

    • Thank you very much James. I’m a little behind in responding but I so appreciate your comments and encouragement.

      2011/04/24 at 11:17 pm

Leave a Reply

