painting and photographic works

Broken but Standing

In an earlier post I described the steps I took in going from a photo to a painting. I saw things in that first “study” that I wanted to improve and this is the result of a second attempt:

Broken but Standing, oil on canvas, 41 by 51 cm (16"x20") by Randall Talbot

My original intent was to do at least a couple of these smaller studies before painting a larger final version. I still may do that but first I want to study this one for awhile to decide what I like and what I would want to improve.

 

Incidentally, for those who might be interested, this is what my palette looked like by the time I finished this painting:

the palette

My palette is a sheet of glass under which I’ve placed a sheet of  neutral gray paper and on the right I’ve placed a 9-point value scale as a reference.

2 responses

  1. Jul

    What a good idea to put a value scale next to your palette. I think I’ll give that a try.

    2011/02/27 at 12:59 pm

    • Yes I have found that value scale to be very useful. I continue to be surprised how wrong my perception can be at judging values. there is a bit of a challenge in comparing the paint on my brush to the value scale under the glass palette – but it definitely has been a good tool for me.

      2011/04/24 at 11:15 pm

Leave a Reply

