painting and photographic works

In Motion

I had a lot of fun playing around with the camera today. Whereas I have spent much of the winter working on low light photos by pushing the ISO setting as high as I could and trying to hold the camera as steady as possible, today I went the other way. It’s not the first time I’ve played around in this way , but I set the shutter speed to 1 second and  moved the camera around during the exposure – up and down , left and right, zoom in and out, or playful curves  – painting with light!

I like some of the images that resulted and plan to make a conscious effort to explore this approach. Here are five photos  from this evening (incidentally, a cold one with a temperature with windchill around -30C):

Light Drops

Horizon Lights

 

Curves

Painting the Evening Sky

Stripes

2 responses

  1. great colors and speed in the last image!

    2011/02/18 at 12:05 am

Leave a Reply

