painting and photographic works

Mystery Solved!

I have this painting hanging over my bed:

"mystery painting" - acrylic on canvas, 30 by 40 in (76 x 101 cm)

I’ve always liked it for it’s bold, expressionistic use of color and brushstrokes, but it’s been a bit of a mystery.

I know who painted it – I did.

I knew that I painted it back in the late 80’s, probably while I was at a painting course at Red Deer College.

I also recalled that it was inspired by a historical painting, one that I found in a book – probably on a day when the weather was unsuitable for working outside. For many years I have not  known what the inspiring painting was or even who had painted the original. Over the years I have asked people familiar with art history if they had a clue – but no luck.

Today I stumbled across an old sketch book of mine and while flipping through it I saw a little sketch that was similar to my mystery painting.

 

Randall's sketch (5x8 in)

On the page facing this sketch was written “Corot”. That rang a bell. I went to the web searched for images for Corot and promptly found this one:

Mornex, Haute-Savoie by Jean-Baptiste Camille Corot

Mystery solved! You can see I obviously didn’t emulate Corot’s style  but the elements of the landscape are the same.

2 responses

  1. That old subconscious works for us and against us all the time.

    2011/03/16 at 9:04 pm

    • Indeed, thanks for looking and commenting 🙂

      2011/04/24 at 11:23 pm

Leave a Reply

