painting and photographic works

Photos in the Rain

You might think that rain and photography don’t mix – I did. First there is just the hassle of  trying to keep your camera dry or your lens unspectled. Today I decided I was going out with my camera (Nikon D80) and just tucked it under my rain jacket, pulling it out only for a quick shot. I also mad a point of keeping the lens pointed down when not in use to minimize the possibility of raindrops striking it.

Perhaps a bigger deterrent to taking the camera out is the fear that there will not be anything to take a picture of. The environment looks very devoid of  color – just grey and green everywhere. Also it is relatively dark so one is forced to resort to higher ISO and/or lower f-stops for handheld shots. Or….one couldchange their approach.

Today, that is what I did. I decided I would deliberately go with slow shutter speeds – like around 1/4 second! I wasn’t going to worry about holding the camera steady. In fact I was planning to deliberately move it during the exposure ( a technique I have been playing with recently). I thought this approach was quite successful. I captured a number of images that I was quite happy with. In fact, I think the camera motion added signifcantly to reinforcing the feeling of rain – the directionality and blurring.

Rainy Street

Stairs in the Rain

Forest in the Rain

Fence Posts in the Rain

Dawson Park in the Rain

3 responses

  1. hissimplelook

    Awesome shots! Artsy!

    2011/07/23 at 12:58 pm

  2. tms

    I’m just beginning out about the aesthetics of rain. Wet surfaces can be a joy to behold. So thanks for sharing this experience, Randall!

    2011/07/23 at 1:30 pm

    • tms

      …beginning to find out, of course. Sorry for this!

      2011/07/24 at 1:13 am

Leave a Reply

