painting and photographic works

19th Century French Photography at the AGA

Today I paid a visit  to the AGA (Art Gallery of Alberta) in Edmonton. The primary reason was to visit a new exhibit, 19th Century French Photographs. The show features 66 photos from the era that saw the birth of photography. I was fascinated by the historical description of the various technological developments in photography during that century. In fact I was a little embarrassed that I didn’t already know more of this history.

One of the things that excited me most about this exhibit is that it includes  works by Eugene Atget, one of my favorite photographers. Truth be told, the half a dozen Atget prints were not as great as I would have hoped. He has captured some excellent depictions of French life in that era but I found the subject matter on the photos in this show to be just average.

This exhibit runs through to January 29th on the main floor of the AGA and I will definitely be back for a second look and especially to pay more attention to the photo technologies displayed

Also on display and worth a visit, on the main floor until January 29th is the Prairie Life exhibit, a display of two-dimensional works from the AGA’s collection.

I also made a second visit to the UP NORTH exhibit on the 3rd floor. It is interesting but I can’t say the installation pieces (a number of videos and found objects) really appeals to me like the photographs and paintings do. It is however worth a visit if you are at the AGA  before it closes on January 8th 2012.

Leave a Reply

