painting and photographic works

Just a Couple of Seconds

The title of this post is “A Couple of Seconds”, as in two-second exposures. For all of the images that follow, I kept the shutter open for a full  two seconds. I had recently been experimenting with “long” exposure of 1/4 to 1/2 of a second, during which I panned the camera. I was growing bored with that technique and once I acquired a variable neutral density filter for my wide angle lens I was able to slow down the exposure considerably more!

I was obviously not after nice, sharp images so these photos are also all handheld. Not only was I not worried about keeping the camera steady, I in fact moved the camera in a variety of ways during the exposure! One technique that I discovered worked quite well  was to walk during the exposure. I believe that is what I did for this photo:

 

Abstract Landscape 305-309

No digital filter were used on that last and the next image. All I did was increase the contrast, exposure and color saturation a bit.

Abstract Landscape 305-308

On this next one, I incorporate a twist of the zoom lens during the exposure:

Abstract 305-316

This next one was a horizontal pan of the camera. With a 2-second exposure one must be careful not to move the camera to fast!

Beside the River (305-353)

This next one was produced by a rotational movement during the exposure

Abstract Landscape 305-372

Next a skyline sunset with a diagonal camera movement (still with the 2-second exposure)

Abstract 305-386

A final experiment, where I took the long exposure photo and applied a color infrared film filter from Color Efex 2.0, to further abstract the image.

Abstract Landscape 305-376

2 responses

  1. Like the way you experiment with your photos !

    2011/12/23 at 3:03 pm

    • Thank you Philip. Experimenting is what keeps photography fun and fresh for me 🙂

      2012/01/08 at 9:10 am

Leave a Reply

